Trust Board

The Saint Kentigern Trust was founded in 1949 for the original purpose of providing schools for boys in the Auckland Province. The Trust Board is an independent body with power to appoint its own members. Two members are nominated by the Presbytery of Auckland. All members of the Board must be members or adherents of the Presbyterian Church of Aotearoa New Zealand. The Trust is incorporated under the Charitable Trusts Act 1957 (previously the ‘Religious Charitable and Educational Trusts Act 1908’) and 2005 .

In 1953, the Trust Board opened Saint Kentigern College, Pakuranga, to provide education for boys from Form I to Form VII. In 1959, Saint Kentigern School, Shore Road, Remuera, was opened to provide education from the Primers to Form II. On 12 December 1995 by Act of Parliament the Trust Deed was amended to provide for the education of girls as well as boys and in 2003, the 50th Jubilee year, the education of girls commenced at the College. In May 2009, the Corran and Saint Kentigern Trust Boards merged, with the Saint Kentigern Trust Board assuming responsibility for staffing and operations on the Girls’ School campus. A Preschool was opened at the start of 2011, on the Girls’ School campus.

The current Chairman of the Trust Board is Dr Bruce Goodfellow, a former student of both the School and the College whose father and grandfather have had a long association with Saint Kentigern.